How to keep bare spots bare?

Having recently gone from stay-at-home mom to working full-time, I simply do not have the time to work in the yard that I used to. I have what used to be three 4' x 20' perennial beds and 20' x 40' vegetable garden that are trying their hardest to become nasty weed patches. I don't have the time/energy/interest in developing the area, but I also don't want to be constantly weed whacking and/or dumping chemicals. I just took a few minutes to research that my worst enemy is 'common vetch' followed closely by 'bittercress'.

Is there a product and/or technique to keep it under control? Last year I tried dumping grass clippings over newspaper and cardboard, but that just made a cozy bed for weed seeds. A friend suggested putting down burlap, and I looked into landscape fabric, but what happens if it is exposed to the elements for months or years?

Location: The only sunny spot in my typical Pacific NW yard. It's on the side of the house, so looking conventionally attractive isn't a primary concern.

I mowed it on the lowest setting over the weekend, and just now went out and sprayed Roundup. How can I make sure it stays dead?

submitted by /u/hobhoxadon
[link] [comments]

Leave a Reply

