A Mom-Approved Tween Study Area

The summer days are starting to go quickly and school days are getting closer. This year is my eldest daughter’s last in middle school and I would love for it to be a memorable one. Sometimes tweens can be hard-to-read creatures and, for the most part, very eclectic. But I’ve found some fun, fashionable accessories to upgrade her study area. Here are some mom-approved touches that I know will make my daughter want to sit and study (more than usual).

Add a funky piece of furniture
Since she shares this room with her two smaller sisters, I had to use accessories that will make the most of the area.


Photo by I don’t know how she does it

I started by changing up the old wood chair with an amazing reinterpretation of the iconic “Tulip Chair” from the Eero Saarinen Modernism movement. I love its organic design (something I’m very familiar with) and the simplicity of its form. To make this chair extra special, I reupholstered the seating pad with an old cushion cover. I also went a little further and drew some flowers on the back.

Mirror, mirror on the wall
Over the wall I added a fun dry eraser weekly calendar I found at HomeGoods. This will come in handy since I know how forgetful tweens can sometimes be.


Photo by I don’t know how she does it

I also incorporated some geometric mirrors and a wire cork board. This last piece will work wonders for those “remember to clean your room” notes, and the “I love you to the moon and back!”! reminders. Every little piece in this wall were great finds from HomeGoods.

Back to s-cool!
Composition notebooks are out of style, so let’s upgrade them with some funky holographic and metallic embossed notebooks.


Photo by I don’t know how she does it

The trick here is to get notebooks that I know she’ll want to use just because they are show stoppers; and of course every tween like to get back to school being cool!

Another fun find was a golden pencil pouch for a set of cute pastel pens.

Go big or go home
A big calendar helps organize the month and keep things in order. This desk one has some amazing flower drawings that were my inspiration for the back of the chair.


Photo by I don’t know how she does it

Another big find was this task lamp. Its vintage look is back in style, and the white and brass accents make it even more chic.


Photo by I don’t know how she does it

Dual purpose accessories
Some girls like sweets, others flowers… or, sometimes both! I reused a tea aluminum can (from the HomeGoods market area) and turned it into a flower vase. I love its design!


Photo by I don’t know how she does it

Also, this metallic gold pineapple accessory is the perfect place for hiding all those pens and pencils. It keeps them at hand in style.


GIF by I don’t know how she does it

My goal was to create a work space that was special and unique for an equally special tween. I can’t believe that this amazing human will be going to high school soon, then college… wow!

Gloribell Lebron is paid blogger. She’s an interior stylist and designer with a strong background and knowledge in graphic design. View more of her work at I Don’t Know How She Does It. (Find her on InstagramPinterestTwitter and Facebook.)

Leave a Reply

